LibGuides: History: Imperial Britain: Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Finding and Getting Books

The Reed Library Catalog search box includes print and ebooks from the Reed library as well as borrowable materials from Summit (the Pacific Northwest libraries' shared catalog) and Interlibrary Loan. If you need help finding the location of a book in the Reed Library, ask for assistance at the Reference Desk, Circulation Desk or the library map.

Finding Articles

Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present)
Index, with abstracts, to research in world history (excluding North America) from 1450 through the 20th Century. For North American history use America: History and Life.
JSTOR
Full text archive of scholarly journals and primary sources in various disciplines. As of August 2024, the interdisciplinary library of images once known as Artstor has been completely incorporated within the JSTOR platform. Artstor images will appear in all searches, or you can use the Browse Images function.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
Humanities International Complete
Replaces Humanities Abstracts. Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published source. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Includes citations for articles from scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present)
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.

Articles Published in Specific Time Periods

Eighteenth Century Journals I (1693 - 1799)
Journals covering all aspects of 18th century social, political and literary life.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.
British Library Newspapers (1800 - 1900)
Contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.