History: Imperial Britain

More than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most published in the English language.

This digital archive offers the entire run of this publication in a fully searchable digital format and features high-quality color images that bring to life more than 150 years of social, political and cultural history. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy. Gift of Burton Onstine, '54.

Contains full runs of newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.

This digital archive features the complete fully searchable archive of The Picture Post published in Britain from 1938-1957. Gift of Burton Onstine, '54.

A full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (London), one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage.

Provides access to the Sunday Times from its launch in 1822 until 2006. It contains more than 600,000 pages including advertisements, obituaries, classified ads and photographs as well as the articles. Early issues contain colourful information on murders, mysteries, theatre, sport and politics. Please note: The Sunday Times is a separate paper from The Times. Reed also provides access to The Times Digital Archive.

A collaborative project of several major research libraries in the U.S. to create a comprehensive library of digital library materials. Login and choose Reed College from the partner institution drop down menu to access more full text content.

A collection of searchable, digital pages from British journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.

A full text, searchable, digital collection of over 180,000 titles. Includes books, pamphlets, essays and more.

Millions of full-text, fully searchable pages of primary source material covering a wide range of topics. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, photographs, newspapers, letters, maps, sheet music and more.

A digital collection of texts by pre-Victorian women writers. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. The section Women Writers in Context offers scholarly essays and explorations to help contextualize WWO texts.

Primary documents from several important archives. Includes material from books.

Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Provides full-text access to the 20th century House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. The Parliamentary papers influenced public opinion and social and political philosophy, and provided a forum for ideas for hundreds of thinkers. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed.