Skip to Main Content

English: Junior Seminar

Critical Material

These databases allow you to search the contents of periodicals to identify articles on your topic.  If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary loan.

Look for terms like criticism, essays, biography, letters, correspondence, critical editions

Stand alone criticism: On shelf by original texts
Critical heritage: presents criticism from the time an author wrote a work.
Critical edition: Original text with historical context and bibliography.
 

Older Critical Material

Here are several databases to help you find older critical material. The most comprehensive is Periodicals Index OnlineEEBO is good for much older works since it covers 1473-1700.

Literary Criticism

The library has a number of important books of literary criticism and critical theory. If the call number starts with Ref, you can find the book in the Reference Room. Otherwise, the book will be in the regular stacks.

PN41 .H36 1992 
Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory
Essays on seventy concepts of special importance to literary theory.

Ref PN81 .E63 1993 
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms.

Ref PN86 .E63 1999 
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism. 2 vols. 
"Guide to literary theory and criticism past and present." Entries cover individuals, theories and concepts in both Western and non-Western theory and criticism.

Ref PN597 .T94 2000 
Twentieth-century Literary Movements Dictionary
"Entries on major and minor literary movements and schools associated with Twentieth-century world literature." Includes entries on individual writers identified with those movements, such as novelists, poets, dramatists, theorists, etc.

Ref PR85 .R42 1996
Reader's Guide to Literature in English
Provides descriptions and evaluation of critical writing on a range of topics and writers of the British Isles, the United States, and other major English-speaking traditions.

Important Journals

General (not restricted by nationality or period)
a/b: Auto/Biography
Biography
Critical Inquiry
Diacritics
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
MLN (Modern Language Notes)
MLQ (Modern Language Quarterly)
MLR (Modern Language Review)
Narrative
Novel
PMLA (Publications of the Modern Language Association)
Representations
The Sewanee Review
Signs
SAQ (The South Atlantic Quarterly)
Social Text
Texas Studies in Literature and Language
Theater
Theater Journal
Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature
Yale Journal of Criticism
The Yale Review

General American (not restricted by period)
African American Review
Amerasia Journal
American Indian Quarterly
American Literary History
American Literature
American Quarterly
Callaloo
Journal of Asian American Studies
MELUS (Multi-Ethnic Literature of the US)

Pre-1900 American Literature
Early American Literature
The Emily Dickinson Journal
The Henry James Review

Twentieth-Century American Literature
Contemporary Literature
Critique
Faulkner Journal
Journal of Modern Literature
Modern Drama
Modern Language Studies
Modernism/ Modernity
Mosaic
Paideuma
Twentieth-Century Literature
The Wallace Stevens Journal
The William Carlos Williams Review

General British (not restricted by period)
ELH (English Literary History)
English Studies
SEL (Studies in English Literature)

The British Medieval Period

Arthuriana
The Chaucer Review
Exemplaria
Journal of English and Germanic Philology
Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Medieval Studies
Medium Aevum
MP (Modern Philology)
Philological Quarterly
Speculum
Studies in Philology

The Renaissance and British Seventeenth Century (to the Restoration)
English Literary Renaissance
Milton Quarterly
MP (Modern Philology)
Shakespeare Quarterly
Shakespeare Studies
Shakespeare Survey
Sixteenth Century Journal
Spenser Studies
Studies in the Renaissance

The Restoration and British Eighteenth Century

Eighteenth-Century Fiction
Eighteenth-Century Studies
Restoration and 18th Century Theatre Research
Studies in Eighteenth-Century Culture

The British Romantic Period (c.1797-c.1820)

The Keats-Shelley Review
Romantic Praxis
Romanticism
Studies in Romanticism
The Wordsworth Circle

The British Victorian Period (c.1820-1900)

Dickens Quarterly
Dickens Studies Annual
ELT (English Literature in Transition)
Nineteenth-Century Fiction
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Victorian Poetry
Victorian Studies

Modern and Contemporary British Literature (1900-present)
Contemporary Literature
Critique
ELT (English Literature in Transition)
JJQ (The James Joyce Quarterly)
Journal of Modern Literature
MFS (Modern Fiction Studies)
Modern Drama
Modernism/ Modernity
Mosaic
Paideuma
Twentieth-Century Literature
The Yeats/Eliot Review