Skip to Main Content

English: Junior Seminar

Annotated Bibliographies

This course requires an annotated bibliography. An annotated bibliography is a list of citations, each of which is followed by a brief description and evaluation that explains the relevancy, accuracy and usefulness of the source.  

Help with your Bibliography

On compiling an annotated bibliography
by James L. Harner
Reed Library Reference Z1001 .H33 2000

Examples of Annotated Bibliographies

The essential Milton : an annotated bibliography of major modern studies
by P. J. Klemp

Reed Library Stacks (PR3581 .K57 1989 )

John Milton : an annotated bibliography, 1968-1988
by Calvin Huckabay and P. J Klemp
Reed Library Stacks (PR3581 .H82 1996 )

Wordsworthian criticism, 1945-1964; an annotated bibliography
by Elton F. Henley, David H. Stam, and James Venable Logan
Reed Library Stacks (PR5881 .H46 1965 )

Zora Neale Hurston: an annotated bibliography of works and criticism
by Cynthia Davis and Verner D. Mitchell
Reed Library Stacks (PS3515. U789 Z459 2013) 
‚Äč

Samuel Taylor Coleridge : an annotated bibliography of criticism and scholarship
by Richard Haven, Josephine Haven, and Maurianne Adams
Reed Library Stacks (PR4483 .H38 1976 )

Oscar Wilde : an annotated bibliography
by Thomas A. Mikolyzk

Reed Library Stacks (PR5823 .M56 1993 )

Citation Help

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
7th ed. : Ref LB2369 .G53 2009

8th ed. : (Reserve) LB2369 .G53 2016 (available at the library Reference Desk)

MLA Style Center

MLA Style Guide, 8th ed.

MLA made easy: Citation Basics for Beginners

Citation & Zotero

Citations allow you to document where the information you've used in your research came from and to give other scholars proper credit for their work.  If the information in your paper is not your original idea, and it is not common knowledge, you need to cite it.  As you work on your research paper, keep track of all the sources you use. Citation management software, like Zotero, can help you collect and organize your citations. Keep an eye out for library workshops.