LibGuides: Linguistics: Welcome

Welcome

Welcome to the linguistics (/lɪŋgwɪstɪks/) subject guide. Below are resources to get you started with your research. Click on the pages to the left to access additional resources.

Databases

See the Literature Search page for more information on finding peer-reviewed journal articles. Below are best bets to get started.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Index to international literature in linguistics with some full text covering all aspects of the study of language. Over 1500 journals are indexed along with books, book chapters, and dissertations.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Articles on mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology.

Background Sources

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics
The third edition of The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics is an authoritative and invaluable reference source covering every aspect of the wide-ranging field of linguistics.
A Dictionary of Grammatical Terms in Linguistics
This dictionary of grammatical terms covers both current and traditional terminology in syntax and morphology
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
Contains over 900 articles which provide a detailed overview of theory & research in all branches of linguistics. Every known language is covered & each article is followed by a detailed bibliography.
Routledge Linguistics Encyclopedia
79 entries covering all major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale.

Linguistics

Social Sciences and Zine Librarian

Welcome

Databases

Background Sources

New to Research in Linguistics?