LibGuides: Linguistics: Semiotics & Pragmatics

Definition

Semiotics - The study of sign systems in society.

Pragmatics - The branch of linguistics which studies those aspects of meaning which derive from the context of the utterance, rather than being intrinsic to the linguistic material itself.

(From Trask's A Student’s Dictionary of Language and Linguistics).

Background Sources for Semiotics & Pragmatics

Below are references sources specific for semiotics & pragmatics. Don't forget to also check the general linguistics reference sources.

Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics
In this 3rd edition, the original entries have been updated with the latest bibliographic references, supplementing each entry with invaluable resources on current literature. The new entries cover areas of interest which have evolved over the last two decades, such as the internet and virtual reality, bringing this classic reference work into the 21st century.

The Cambridge Handbook of Pragmatics by Keith Allan; Katarzyna Jaszczolt
Publication Date: 2012
A broad overview of the study of study of human communication, including core theories and seminal research as well as more recent perspectives.
The Encyclopedia of Semiotics by Paul Bouissac
Call Number: Ref P99 .E64 1998
Contains three hundred articles covering a wide range of twentieth-century topics such as the study of signs, communication, and culture. The work also delves into non-Western philosophical and linguistic traditions.
Handbook of Semiotics by Winfried Noth
Call Number: P99 .N6513 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Semiotics : the basics (First edition) by Daniel Chandler
Call Number: P99 .C463 2007 (2nd edition)
Publication Date: 2017

Finding Books

Use the library catalog to search for print books and ebooks from Reed's collection. You can also search the print holdings of other local libraries (via Summit).

Reed College used the Library of Congress (LC) Classification system to arrange the books in the stacks. Though books on semiotics and pragmatics may be shelved in other locations, most books will be found in the LC call number range P99 - P99.4 in the Library Lower Level 1 East Stacks.