Skip to main content

Philosophy

Locating Books

Finding Books and other Resources
The library catalog allows you to search Reed's holdings, Summit (Northwest libraries), and libraries worldwide (WorldCat). In addition to books and media, the catalog also includes an extensive amount of journal article citations and full-text links.
 
Beyond Reed: Summit vs ILL
If you find something in the system that is not owned by Reed, you should first request the item through Summit. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for all journal article requests as well as books and media not available through Summit. E-books cannot be borrowed from another institution. Check the library website for more information on borrowing policies for Reed College Library and Summit as well as information on ILL.

Getting Started/General Resources

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that provide basic information. If you are not clear about your topic, try establishing its limits with a good definition and some introductory information. The following general sources can give you a quick overview or summary of a topic, and you can find more specialized resources in the Reference Room.

Finding Background Information

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy 
A dynamic encyclopedia with each entry maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Includes an index of all names mentioned in the articles. Does not contain articles on living philosophers.

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Comprehensive in coverage. Other than primary sources mentioned in articles there are no bibliographies.

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Includes brief bibliographies, portraits, a chronological table and a table of logical symbols. 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy 
A comprehensive encyclopedia. The online version can be browsed by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full-text entries can be searched by keyword, title, contributor, or bibliography.