LibGuides: Philosophy: Finding Articles

Finding Journal Articles & Essays

Indexes (sometimes referred to as library databases) allow you to search the contents of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some indexes are interdisciplinary, while some focus on a particular subject area. Some contain full text articles or link to full text articles from other sources. Many include citations for books, dissertations, and conference papers in addition to journal articles.

After you find a citation for an article, you will need to check the library catalog to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue - unless the index you're searching has a full text version of the article (or links to one).

If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary Loan (periodicals cannot be borrowed from Summit).

Key Resources for Philosophy Journal Articles

PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Content includes journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages.
Philosopher's Index (1940 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published throughout the Western World since 1967. Coverage from 1940 for U.S. materials.
Coverage Dates: 1940 - Present

General & Interdisciplinary Resources for Philosophy Journal Articles

L'Annee Philologique (1949 - Present) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of research in classics, indexing modern editions of ancient texts, journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews. Present coverage reflects 2-3 years lag time.
ATLA Religion (1949 - Present) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that supports religious and theological scholarship. It includes citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews and Doctor of Ministry Projects.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.