Skip to Main Content

Studio Art

Resources for Studio Art majors and students taking art courses

Jobs

Looking for work opportunities or internships?

Login to IRIS and look under Resources for Handshake, Reed's online database for jobs, internships, and opportunities.

The Reed Career Alliance (RCA) has resources for alumni looking to develop careers post-Reed. Contact Alumni Programs with additional questions.

Higher Education

Considering another degree? Besides getting a Masters in Fine Arts, there are many art and art adjacent jobs that require a special degree or certificate, including: Art Librarian, Art Therapist, Conservator, Restorer, Medical Illustrator, Museum Curator, or Arts Lawyer.

The Center for Life Beyond Reed has resources for Reedies looking to apply to Graduate School.

Grants

Grants can be a great way to supplement an aspect of your creative work. You can find grants that will cover materials, educational opportunities, studio space, etc. Read the grant application carefully to find out what they will cover.

New York Foundation for the Arts Source has a free database that lists over 12,000 grants, scholarships, and prizes around the country.

Grants.gov allows you to search grants given out by the federal government.

National Assemble of State Arts Agencies allows you to find your state's art commission and how to contact them.

The Center for Life Beyond Reed has a database of Fellowships & Awards.

Residencies

Art Residencies often allow an artist a place to work or live and a stipend or honorarium to create their work. The below resources show available residencies all across the globe.

TransArtists has a searchable database of artist residencies all around the world.

ResArtists has a searchable database of artist residencies all around the world.

Alliance of Artists Communities has a searchable database of artist residencies all around the world.

Beltway Poetry Quarterly has a searchable database of Artist in Residence programs (hosted by colleges, national parks, or museums), Artists colonies, and Artist retreats.

Reed Alumni Network

Login to IRIS and select the Alumni Directory. From there, advanced search will allow you to look people up by their career network volunteer info. You can narrow your search even further by the type of work different alumni are doing. You might consider finding a mentor, asking for advice, setting up a job shadow, or getting in touch with an alumni currently in that Master's program you've been eyeing.

You can also join other Reed alumni networks on Switchboard and LinkedIn.

Catalog Resources

Alumni are allowed to check out books from the Reed College Library (but do not have ILL or SUMMIT privileges).

Feel free to browse the art books on LL1 in the West Stacks or try searching the library catalog.

For practical guide books, try adding "Technique +" to what you are trying to learn into your catalog search.

For advice on making a living as an artist, try "Art Vocational Guidance" in your catalog search.

Email, call, or visit the library for more in-depth help with your questions!

Email Amy at astewart@reed.edu if you would like to see other topics covered within this guide.