LibGuides: Biology: eBooks & Databases

Core Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature on the biomedical sciences. Can be searched interactively with other NCBI databases.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Index and full-text access to thousands of related journals, technical reports and government publications. Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases.
TAIR This link opens in a new window
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) collects information and maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. To use this database, you must register for a free account and login whenever you wish to access it.

bioRxiv
A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences from CSHP.
NaturePrecedeings
SpringerNature's preprint server for the Life Sciences.
WorldwideScience

E-Book Central
Access to more than 80,000 ebook titles from leading academic publishers in 16 discipline areas. Users can browse the book online, download to their computer or ereader, and save notes and annotations.
PubMed Bookshelf
A great collection of online text (esp. genetics, cell & microbiology) that are completely searchable.

O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
The O'Reilly for Higher Education digital platform (formerly known as Safari Books Online or O'Reilly Online Learning) includes books, videos, case studies, and audio books from O’Reilly plus approximately 200 of the world’s leading publishers in business and technology. Topics range from programming to cybersecurity to project management to communications to presentation skills.

Springer Books Online
Comprised of over 50,000 Springer e-books published from 2005 to date in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. All of the books are accessible via the library catalog or directly from the Springer platform.