Comprehensive reference source to the core topics of molecular biology and also includes general background material for those fields to which molecular biology. Length of entries vary from definition to encyclopedic.
Describes "structural and evolutionary relationships of all known protein structures." Provides links to a variety of different information sources, including Swiss-3DImage, RasMol Script, Chime view, NCBI Entrez Sequence Entries or Protein Databank Entries.
Includes biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, bio-geography, earth history, and the earth sciences. There is worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups: one-third of the entries are devoted to taxa, from bacteria and fungi to the main groups of flowering and non-flowering plants.
Different types of articles with varying degree of coverage. Focus is on studies based on the human and mouse genomes, but other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are given in-depth coverage.
An excellent resource emphasizing sequence to function data. It contains (metabolic and regulatory) pathway maps, molecular catalogs, genome maps and gene catalogs and can be searched by EC numbers or enzymes, by compound numbers for chemical compounds, and gene accessions for specific genes.
Current collection of comprehensive articles on topics ranging from mechanobiology of lung epithelial cells to inert gas transport in blood and tissues. Lengthy references are also included, as well as detailed figures, tables, and equations.
An archive of the entire corpus of knowledge on the enteric bacterial cell, comprised of several hundred modules of information and interpretation, including the genome database. Continually expanded, updated, and revised.
Includes approximately 320 articles providing coverage of the entire field of environmental microbiology and all important topics. Extensive cross-referencing, bibliographies, a comprehensive index, and illustrations (photographs, tables, and line drawings).
This comprehensive work covers topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, animal cognition, behavioral interactions of humans with companion animals, farm animals, and animals in the wild.
Defines terms describing taxa, animal behavior, cell structure, Earth history, taxonomic principles, zoogeography, and more. Includes brief biographical sketches of scientists who have contributed substantially to the field of zoology.