LibGuides: Biology: Protocols, Reviews & Videos

Finding Review Publications

Review publications contain articles that review the research already done in a given area. A review article can give you a synthesis of a particular topic and provide you with an extensive bibliography.

To identify review articles, most databases allow you to search by article type (review) or limit your search to reviews. Reed Library also subscribes to a number of review journals. These resources are available to the Reed community only.

Annual Review of … (search or browse all titles)
Reed subscribes to the entire collection of Annual Review titles. A selection relevant to biology includes reviews for biochemistry, cell biology, genetics, physiology and plant biology.

Methods & Protocols

Although there are a number of places to find methods and protocols for research, Reed subscribes to a few resources that you should try!

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
New and classic research techniques. Fully searchable by keyword and subject. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.

Methods in Enzymology
Access to detailed description of experimental techniques in biochemistry and related fields.

Springer Protocols/Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Online database of laboratory protocols (“recipes”) for the life and biomedical sciences, taken from Methods in Molecular Biology and other sources.

JOVE Science Education

JOVE Science Education is a database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. Reed has access to the complete collection of science videos to improve scientific research and education.

JoVE Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Reed has access to the complete collection of science videos to improve scientific research and education.