This open-source compilation aims to catalogue every taxon. Pages include information on distribution, morphology, biology, and habitat, and also feature relevant media and references. Articles may also be commented on and rated by readers.
A network of biodiversity databases and information technology tools that will enable users to navigate and put to use the world's vast quantities of biodiversity information to produce national economic, environmental and social benefits.
A database of current names and classifications of all biota." The Data Access section contains access to the database as well as instructions for use. Searchable by scientific or common name or taxonomic serial number. Contains scientific name, common (vernacular) name, TSN, author and rank.
Searchable collection of databases containing protein and nucleic acid sequences of hundreds of organisms. Probably one of the most useful sites of its type that I have seen. Entries include references.
Provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history, and characteristics. Pages are linked one to another hierarchically, in the form of the evolutionary tree of life. Starting with the root of all Life on Earth and moving out along diverging branches to individual species, the structure of the ToL project thus illustrates the genetic connections between all living things.
Field Guides, Floras & Manuals
Amphibians of Oregon, Washington and British Columbia by Charlotte Corkran; Chris Thoms