LibGuides: Online Research and Resources: Databases & Articles

Journal Articles

We subscribe to hundreds of databases to help you find articles, primary resources, book, and other resources for your research. Some databases are general purpose (cover all subjects) and other databases are specialized or subject-specific. All of our databases can be found on the library's database page.

If you find a citation for an article that is not linked to full text, check the Library Catalog to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue. If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary loan. The library is still processing ILL requests for materials like articles, book chapters, and dissertations if we can find them digitally.

Getting Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself. The library offers two services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:

Reed FullText link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says "Check Reed FullText" or something similarly. Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
Interlibrary Loan Request — ILLIAD. Log into this service with your Reed network ID and password to request journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within a week.