Skip to Main Content

Multnomah County Library Databases

How to get a library card online: You can access Multnomah County Library’s electronic resources from home with a new library card today! Library cards are free to residents of Multnomah County & (Reed College students) and many nearby areas.

Research Tools, Resources & Databases

Research: (Click this link for the list of databases) 

These reliable, accurate information sources are free with your Multnomah County Library card number and password. Click on any information source to read its description. (once on that page) In the boxes shown in the image below, you can search by topic or type. image of multnomah county database search box

 

 

 

Once you click on the information source link it will take you to the description page, from that page click the "Begin using that resource" blue button 

multnomah county database link

 

 

 

 

Once you click that button, a sign in page will open, enter your card number and password. 

Research tools & resources login

Multnomah County Library Database List

E-Books:

  • EBook Central from ProQuestMore than 150,000 streaming, adult e-books, mostly nonfiction. Highlight, take notes, print pages and more.
  • eLibrary: Use this resource to find information in books, journals, and media: eLibrary was designed as a starting point for students interested in researching current topics, but is useful for adult audiences as well.
  • Gale eBooksMore than 1,400 reference e-books, plus every Gale information database at Multnomah County Library.
  • OverDriveOverDrive is a collection of e-books and digital audiobooks offered by the library. The e-books and audiobooks can be downloaded to your computer, e-reader (including Kindle) or other device. 

Journals: 

  • Academic OneFileAcademic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. 
  • JSTOR: is a digital archive of full-text academic and scholarly journals published around the world from the 1600s to the present. It also includes primary source materials such as letters, images and pamphlets. ( also a Reed database) 
  • Academic Search Premier: More than 8500 magazines indexed. Complete articles from more than 4600 magazines. Some magazines cover dates earlier than 1975. 
  • Serials Solutions: This resource helps you locate available electronic journals by title, subject heading, or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number). Provides links to one or more online library resources containing the journal.

Genealogy: 

  • America's Obituaries and Death NoticesUse this resource to find an obituary or death notice: Coverage varies with each newspaper, mostly from the 1990's to now.
  • Ancestry Library EditionAccess to more than 7 billion names in more than 4,000 genealogical databases including Census Records, Passenger Lists and UK & Ireland records. Library version of Ancestry.com.
  • Biography and Genealogy Master IndexThis resource is now a part of the Gale Directory Library.
  • Biography in ContextFind biographies and images for more than 525,000 people. You can search by name, country, ethnicity, job, or birth or death date.  
  • HeritageQuest OnlineHeritage Quest online is a collection of research materials for tracing family histories and researching places in the United States. It includes resources like the federal census records from 1790-1930, local history books and genealogies going back to the 1700s, as well as Revolutionary War and Freedman’s Bank records. 

Art & Fine Arts: 

  • Art Abstracts: Covers all areas of art: art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography. 
  • Art Index Retrospective: Indexes articles published in art journals during the span of years from 1929-1984, in citation format.
  • Auto Repair SourceThis resource contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles between 1974 to present. 

Black & First Nations History Resources: 

  • African American Communities: This resource provides primary sources from African American communities in the United States from the 1860's through the 1970's.
  • BlackPast (Website)An online encyclopedia, full text speeches and other primary documents dating from 1789-2016, bibliographies and timelines, as well as links to digital archive collections, museums and research centers, genealogical websites, and more than 200 other website resources.
  • Ethnic NewsWatchThis resource provides full-text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Many of these articles are not indexed in other databases. 
  • Oxford African American Studies Center: The Studies Center provides images, maps, primary sources, and more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field. Blog posts and photo essays feature recent scholarship and current events. 
  • Indigenous Peoples: North America: Primary sources take students beyond the facts and figures of history and into a deeper understanding of Indigenous Peoples. Get robust and diverse information on the historical experiences, cultural traditions, innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada.

Literature, Book Review and Publication Data 

  • Book Review Digest PlusBook Review Digest offers excerpts and full-text reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety sources.  Review sources include newspapers, popular magazines and academic journals as far back as 1983.
  • Books and AuthorsThis resource is a reader’s advisory tool that includes plot summaries, reading recommendations for similar titles, and searchable information on genre, characters, subjects, and time period.
  • Books in PrintSearch for books, video and audio materials in print, forthcoming and out of print. Special sections include author biographies, professional reviews, book award winners and nominees, and a directory of national and international publishers.
  • Biography Reference CenterThis resource offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases. 
  • Essay And General Literature Index: This database cites essays and articles to nearly 45,000 English-language essays in 3,500 collections and anthologies in the humanities.
  • Fiction Core CollectionGet more than 19,000 librarian-recommended titles for a general adult audience - including mystery, science fiction, fantasy, Western and romance.
  • Graphic Novels Core CollectionMore than 5,000 titles for all ages over three recommendation levels. The collection includes descriptive annotations and cover art.
  • Literature Resource Center: Find information on current and historical authors and their writings. Criticism, biographies, overviews, reviews, multimedia.
  • Library Literature & Information Science Full Text: This database collects articles and information about the operation of public, professional, and school libraries.
  • Literature Criticism Online
  • LitFinder: This resource provides access to a broad span of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history -- including more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. 
  • MasterFILE Premier: Use MasterFILE Premier to find articles from popular magazines, including general reference, business, consumer health, popular culture and general science magazines. 
  • Nonfiction Core CollectionThis resource is the online version of the reference book Public Library Core Collection: Nonfiction.
  • NoveList PlusNoveList gives book recommendations for favorite authors, titles and series. Search by title, plot or writing style to find read-alikes. Find reading lists for popular genres and non-fiction, or browse reviews and discussion guides.
  • Oxford English DictionaryUse this dictionary to explore individual words or phrases used for a particular concept or meaning over time. Includes the modern spelling of a word and when that word first entered the English language.
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982This is a comprehensive index of popular general-interest magazines published in the United States reflecting the history of 20th century America. Citation only. 
  • Readers' Guide to Periodical LiteratureThe online version of the trusted Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
  • Short Story Index: This resource is an index to short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals indexed in Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and Humanities Index. It is aimed at readers seeking short fiction by a favorite author, teachers looking for an example of a particular genre, or students researching the body of work of a literary figure.
  • Ulrichsweb Global Serials DirectoryUlrich's is a periodicals directory. This resource has a large bibliographic database of records describing serials published throughout the world. Ulrich's covers academic and scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and more.

Business & Economics Collection 

  • ABI/INFORM CollectionIn-depth business coverage, with information and articles about companies, products, executives, trends and other related topics,  for the region, the nation, and the world. Resource Type: Articles - full-textArticles - indexesFinancial reportsTrade publications.
  • Associations UnlimitedThis resource provides information on 158,000 associations and professional societies, both national and international, and includes IRS information for 300,000 nonprofit organizations. 
  • Business CollectionCovers business, management, industry, economics, politics and investments. Includes articles from trade publications, journals, magazines, company profiles, full text of Investext investment reports and recent newswire releases.
  • Business Insights: GlobalIn-depth coverage of business, including company profiles, financial reports, brand information, company histories and full text business articles. Includes tools you can use to compare and rank companies.
  • Business Source PremierArticles on companies worldwide, from top business journals, trade publications, books, newspapers and magazines. Search by company name, product name, ticker symbol or NAICS code. Articles are in full color with images.
  • CCH CheetahUse this resource to access Capital Changes Reporter, which covers all actions affecting publicly traded securities and the tax consequences.
  • Financial Ratings Series: Use this resource to access: Institutional ratings on banks, credit unions, insurers, etc Utilize financial planning tools Financial Ratings Series Online is a combination of the Weiss Ratings and The Street Ratings guides available online.
  • Gale Business: EntrepreneurshipThis resource contains articles that covers all major areas of starting, operating and maintaining a business from financing, management, marketing, accounting, taxes and more.
  • Gale Directory Library: Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies: Whether it be for contacting a company or calculating its market share, the Ward's Business Directory is an invaluable tool for librarians, executives, students, analysts, marketers and all other professionals who require updated company and industry profiles
  • Mergent ArchivesMergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. The database contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries.
  • Mergent IntellectFind directory information on public and private U.S. and international companies, including names and addresses of leaders. Create custom lists of companies by features such as location, number of employees and sales.
  • Mergent OnlineFind information on public U.S. and international companies. Searching by company name results in a comprehensive summary page that includes financial information, company history, executive biographies and recent news updates.
  • Regional Business News: This resource provides coverage of business topics from local newswires, magazines and regional business publications.
  • ReferenceUSAThis resource is a directory with information about businesses and people in the United States and Canada. 
  • SimplyAnalytics: A mapping application that lets users create professional quality thematic maps for use in presentations, research reports or business plans, using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. 

Finance & Stock Markets: 

  • Value LineValue Line is a comprehensive financial resource covering current and historical market and financial data spanning thousands of U.S. companies, mutual funds and other securities.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center: Find information and analysis of stocks, mutual funds, exchange-traded funds and other financial investment products. Includes a variety of financial data and analyst reports.

Congressional, Governmental, Federal & Tax Resources:

  • Congressional PublicationsProvides access to U.S. legislative information and a variety of information by and about Congress. You can search an index of congressional publications from 1970 to the present and the archive of the Congressional Record from 1789-1997. Retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970, find testimony from congressional hearings, track bills as they move through the House and Senate, search the Congressional Record and locate information about members and committees.
  • CQ ResearcherWritten by Congressional Press, Inc, this resource consists of weekly reports written by journalists on current issues. Topics covered are health, criminal justice, the environment, technology, social issues, international news, education and the economy. 
  • General Land Office Records (Website)This resource provides live access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1820 and the present. It also has images related to survey plats and field notes, dating back to 1810. 
  • Guide to Law Online (Website): A guide to online sources of information on government and law as compiled by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division. Contains full texts of laws, regulations, and court decisions. Includes materials for nonspecialists.
  • USA Trade OnlineThis resource is the official source of U.S. export and import trade statistics prepared by the U.S. Department of Commerce. 
  • IRS (Internal Revenue Service) Forms & Publications (Website)

Non-profit Information:

  • GuideStar: Provides information on programs and finances of charities and nonprofits, news on philanthropy, and resources for donors and volunteers. (Only available at Central Library) (Resource offers a edition when you set up an account). 
  • Foundation Directory Online Professional: The grants file lets you view the recent funding history of the larger foundations and the recipient type. Grant records are linked to grantmaker foundations. (FDO Essential is available during library closure, provided by Candid). 
  • Foundation Grants to Individuals Online: An online database of nearly 10,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. (Only available at Central Library. Please ask for assistance from Library staff).

World Cultural Information 

  • CultureGrams: Search for up-to-date facts and cultural information about countries around the world. You can also research U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
  • The Columbia Gazetteer of the WorldThis alphabetical list of place names is for students, academic researchers, travelers and anyone interested in factual data about places anywhere in the world. 
  • World Book AdvancedWorld Book Encyclopedia Online offers an advanced search interface for post-high school students and other learners seeking more comprehensive information.
  • World Book EncyclopediaThe World Book Encyclopedia is a general information source with accurate and reliable facts, on many subjects and for different audiences. Access all of them here. Great for homework help.

Maps:

  • Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970Historical maps from the Sanborn fire insurance map company from 1867 to 1970 that show details of buildings (including construction materials, use of buildings, and name of owners), streets, lot lines, and neighborhood infrastructure like roads and water mains are included. Because the maps were published at different times, each one shows a snapshot of the neighborhood in a different historical era. Maps of hundreds of Oregon towns and cities are included.

Foreign Language Tools 

  • Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos: World Book Encyclopedia Online offers a search interface and information in Spanish. Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is a beginner’s Spanish language reference tool. 
  • Mango Languages: Learn over 40 languages, including Arabic, Spanish, Mandarin, Cantonese, French, Italian, Vietnamese, German, Russian, Swahili and many more.

Gender & Sexuality:

  • Archives of Sexuality & GenderThis resource brings together a primary source collection of documents about social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. 

Medical & Health:

  • Alt HealthWatchThis resource focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. 
  • Gale Health and Wellness: Health and Wellness Resource Center has information about health and wellness for people who are not doctors. Learn about diseases and conditions, drugs, and medical treatments -- or, find contact information for health services in your community. 
  • Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine: Search for articles and other types of materials in all areas of health, wellness and clinical medicine. Includes full text articles and citations from more than 1,700 full-text sources such as newsletters, consumer health resources, journals, magazines, and newsletters.
  • Health Source Consumer Edition: This resource contains articles on a wide variety of  health-related subjects, including sports medicine, nursing, genetics, oncology pediatrics and emergency medicine. The emphasis is on information geared for the consumer. 
  • Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition: This resource contains articles from the core journals in the field of nursing.  Many articles are full-text.
  • MEDLINEThis resource is the primary database of clinical medicine. It contains over 10 million citations to the world's journal literature covering biomedicine, including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Full-text is not available through this database.
  • MedlinePlus (Website): Written for the layperson, MedlinePlus from the National Library of Medicine is one of the best places to start your search for medical or health related information. 
  • Teen Health & Wellness: Includes help hotlines, quizzes, ask a doctor and a teen advice column. 

Newpapers:

  • Historic Oregon Newspapers (Website)Historic Oregon Newspapers is an archive of newspapers from all over the state, originally published from the 1840s to 1922. 
  • The Historical Oregonian (1861-1987)This resource contains recent articles from The Oregonian, the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon.
  • The Wall Street JournalThis resource contains full text of articles from the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present. It does not include stock quotes or advertisements. 
  • Los Angeles TimesAbstracts and full text articles published in the Los Angeles Times, a major newspaper from California. 
  • New York Times (1980-present)News and current events from the New York Times newspaper from 1980 to the present date. 
  • New York Times HistoricalThis resource includes full-text and full-images of every page of the New York Times, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF format. 
  • NewsBank America's NewsRead articles from Oregon and Washington newspapers and major newspapers from other states. They may include births, deaths and marriages if the individual newspaper includes them.
  • Newspaper SourceThis resource is an index and citation database for many regional and U.S. and international newspapers and news wires. 
  • Oregon Journal (1902-1982)Contains scans of The Oregon Journal from 1902 to 1982. The Oregon Journal was one of the major newspapers in Portland, Oregon, and for many years it was the main competitor of The Oregonian. 
  • The Oregonian (1987-present)This resource contains recent articles from The Oregonian, the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon.

Streaming Media 

  • Hooplais a collection of streaming videos, comics, and music available instantly, with automatic returns and no late fees. 
  • Kanopyis a collection of streaming videos with a focus on classic, documentary, and independent film available instantly, with automatic returns and no late fees. 

Image:

  • ImageQuest: This resource provides images from multiple sources for your personal or educational use. 

Music

  • IMSLP Petrucci Music Library (Website) IMSLP stands for International Music Score Library Project, a wiki-based source for public domain music scores, recordings, and information about musical works. 
  • Music and Dance OnlineMusic Online is a resource for streaming audio and video of music and dance collections. 
  • Oxford Music OnlineAccess Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Oxford Music Online includes more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.

Education:

  • ERIC: This index contains citations to articles on all aspects of education,  from early childhood education through higher education and including adult, vocational, technical and teacher education.
  • Educator's Reference Complete: A great tool for professional educators and undergraduate and graduate students in the field of education.  Use this resource to get more than 1,100 full-text periodicals covering a variety of disciplines and levels from preschool to college.
  • Professional Development Collection: This education-oriented resource contains information for the professional educator. You can find articles on everything from education theory and practice to children's health and development.

Oregon & Portland:

  • The Gallery (Website): The Gallery features photographs, documents, audio and video for you to explore and learn about Multnomah County’s rich and vibrant cultural heritage. Check back often as we continue to add new collections.
  • PortlandMaps (Website) You can search for properties by address or browse using a map. This resource focuses on properties that are within the city limits of Portland or the county limits of Multnomah County; properties that are outside this area are included but with less detail.
  • Oregon Department of Revenue: Oregon tax forms & publications (Website)Includes all State of Oregon tax forms, instructions and publications. Personal income tax forms and publications are included. You can print any available form at the library for ten cents per page.
  • Oregon Encyclopedia (Website)The Oregon Encyclopedia is a constantly growing collection of essays on all things related to Oregon. The entries are written by knowledgeable authors and are authorized by editors and fact-checkers before being published.
  • Oregon Blue Book (Website):The Oregon Blue Book is an almanac and factbook created by the Oregon state government and updated regularly, including directory listings for current state government officials and departments. 

Automotive

Legal & Law

  • LegalTracAimed at students, law school faculty and legal researchers, this resource provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals.
  • Live Homework Help from Tutor.com

Technology & Software Learning:

  • Lynda.com: Lynda.com is an online learning platform with courses in business, software, technology, and creative skills. Use it to achieve personal and professional goals.

Research Topic Databases:

Science

  • Today's ScienceIt highlights recent science subjects and issues through articles, images and recommended websites.
  • AgricolaThis database is a citation and abstract only database which covers the fields of agriculture and the life sciences. 

Subsistence & Job Search Resources

  • WorkSource Oregon (Website)WorkSource Oregon is a statewide network that stimulates job growth by connecting businesses and workers with the resources they need to succeed. 
  • Glassdoor (Website): Search millions of jobs and get the inside scoop on companies with employee reviews, personalized salary tools, and more.
  • Oregon Career Information SystemLearn about individual jobs and the education and required training for each. It is also a great source of information on scholarships.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook (Website): This resource provides information on what workers do, working conditions, education, training, and other qualifications. 
  • MyFreeTaxes.com (Website): This program helps qualifying taxpayers prepare and e-file their own returns for free, and includes various ways to get support. For those who do not meet the Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) requirements for the My Free Taxes program, the IRS does offer FreeFile to everyone.
  • 211info (Website): 211info is a free service that provides referrals to local social service and support organizations across Oregon and Southwest Washington. 
  • Aging and Disability Resource Connection (ADRC) (Website) The Aging and Disability Resource Connection, also known as the ADRC, is available 24 hours a day as a free resource to provide the public with information, assistance, and referrals on issues
  • WorldCat