LibGuides: English : Finding Articles

These databases allow you to search the contents of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. If you find a citation for an article that is not linked to full text, check the library catalog to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue. If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary loan.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. MLA covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin. Tips for searching
LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies and key secondary sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Languge and Literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This electronic archive of essential academic journals includes several major journals from the field of English literary studies.
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
CCO offers subject or theme-based cross-searchable collections, including Cambridge Companions Complete Collection and its two sub-collections: Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics, and: Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture.
American Literary Scholarship (1998 - 2020) This link opens in a new window
Annual selective and evaluative survey of the year's important scholarship. Ceased publication with the 2020 volume. Also available in print 1963 - 1997 (Stacks PS3 .A47)
Project MUSE (1958 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Online access to more than 200 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Year's Work in English Studies
Selective and evaluative survey of the year's scholarship in English, American and other literatures in English.
Coverage Dates: 1919 - Present

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes of articles in the humanities including art and world history. An author and subject index to more than 300 English language periodicals.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
An author and subject index to more than 300 English language periodicals.

Important Journals

General (not restricted by nationality or period)
a/b: Auto/Biography
Biography
Critical Inquiry
Diacritics
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
MLN (Modern Language Notes)
MLQ (Modern Language Quarterly)
MLR (Modern Language Review)
Narrative
Novel
PMLA (Publications of the Modern Language Association)
Representations
The Sewanee Review
Signs
SAQ (The South Atlantic Quarterly)
Social Text
Texas Studies in Literature and Language
Theater
Theater Journal
Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature
Yale Journal of Criticism
The Yale Review

General American (not restricted by period)
African American Review
Amerasia Journal
American Indian Quarterly
American Literary History
American Literature
American Quarterly
Callaloo
Journal of Asian American Studies
MELUS (Multi-Ethnic Literature of the US)

Pre-1900 American Literature
Early American Literature
The Emily Dickinson Journal
The Henry James Review

Twentieth-Century American Literature
Contemporary Literature
Critique
Faulkner Journal
Journal of Modern Literature
Modern Drama
Modern Language Studies
Modernism/ Modernity
Mosaic
Paideuma
Twentieth-Century Literature
The Wallace Stevens Journal
The William Carlos Williams Review

General British (not restricted by period)
ELH (English Literary History)
English Studies
SEL (Studies in English Literature)

The British Medieval Period
Arthuriana
The Chaucer Review
Exemplaria
Journal of English and Germanic Philology
Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Medieval Studies
Medium Aevum
MP (Modern Philology)
Philological Quarterly
Speculum
Studies in Philology

The Renaissance and British Seventeenth Century (to the Restoration)
English Literary Renaissance
Milton Quarterly
MP (Modern Philology)
Shakespeare Quarterly
Shakespeare Studies
Shakespeare Survey
Sixteenth Century Journal
Spenser Studies
Studies in the Renaissance

The Restoration and British Eighteenth Century
Eighteenth-Century Fiction
Eighteenth-Century Studies
Restoration and 18th Century Theatre Research
Studies in Eighteenth-Century Culture

The British Romantic Period (c.1797-c.1820)
The Keats-Shelley Review
Romantic Praxis
Romanticism
Studies in Romanticism
The Wordsworth Circle

The British Victorian Period (c.1820-1900)
Dickens Quarterly
Dickens Studies Annual
ELT (English Literature in Transition)
Nineteenth-Century Fiction
Nineteenth-Century Literature
Victorian Poetry
Victorian Studies

Modern and Contemporary British Literature (1900-present)
Contemporary Literature
Critique
ELT (English Literature in Transition)
JJQ (The James Joyce Quarterly)
Journal of Modern Literature
MFS (Modern Fiction Studies)
Modern Drama
Modernism/ Modernity
Mosaic
Paideuma
Twentieth-Century Literature
The Yeats/Eliot Review