Skip to main content

English Literature

Quick Lookups

There are many handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias that provide basic information for literary studies. If you are not clear about your topic, try establishing its limits with a good definition and some introductory information. The following sources can give you a quick overview or summary of a topic.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
Ref PN81 .J554 2005
A guide to the intellectual traditions of literary theory that includes articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.

Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Ref PN1021 .N39 2012
"Provides surveys of 106 national poetries; descriptions of poetic forms and genres...detailed explanations of the devices of prosody and rhetoric; and overviews of all major schools of poetry ancient and modern, Western and Eastern...provides balanced and comprehensive accounts of the major movements and issues in criticism and literary theory."

The Oxford Companion to English Literature
PR19 .D73 2000
Brief articles on authors, works, literary movements, etc.

Reader's Guide to Literature in English
Ref PR85 .R42 1996
Provides descriptions and evaluation of critical writing on a range of topics and writers of the British Isles, the United States, and other major English-speaking traditions.

The Oxford Companion to American Literature
Ref PS21 .H3 1995
Brief articles on authors, works, literary movements, etc.

Contemporary Authors
Provides biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors

Finding Books

Searching the Library Catalog

In the Library Catalog, you can search Reed and Summit (Northwest libraries) simultaneously. 
Choose "Reed Library" to limit your search to books and media at Reed. 
Choose "Reed + Summit" to find and request items from Reed and Summit Libraries. 
Choose "Reed + Summit + Articles" for access to thousands of journal article links, along with Reed and Summit items. 

To find materials beyond Reed and Summit libraries, click the "search WorldCat" button. This expands your search to libraries worldwide and allows you to request materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Style Manual & Citation

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref LB2369 .G53 2009

MLA Style Center

MLA made easy: Citation Basics for Beginners