LibGuides: Chinese: Articles and Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Databases allow you to search the contents of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. Some databases are interdisciplinary, and some focus on a particular subject area. Some contain full text or links to full text from other sources. Some only include citations for books, dissertations, and conference papers as well as journal articles.

If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from ILL (periodicals cannot be borrowed from Summit).

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. You can limit to subject "Asian studies" in the advanced search options.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Replaces Humanities Abstracts. Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published source. Covers humanities and social sciences.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for articles from scholarly journals published prior to 1985 in North America and Europe. Covers humanities and the social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
China academic journals. Series F: Literature, history, philosophy (CNKI) This link opens in a new window
Reed has access to the full-text collection of Chinese journals in the fields of literature, history and philosophy.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to articles in more than 4,600 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

World News Connection (1996 - 2013) This link opens in a new window
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries, updated daily. For earlier content see Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.

Chinese Cultural Relics (Wenwu) ENGLISH
Chinese Cultural Relics is the official English translation of the prestigious award-winning Chinese archaeology journal Wenwu (Cultural Relics). Published since the 1950s, Wenwu is well known in China and abroad for its quality articles and in-depth reporting of Chinese archaeological surveys and fieldwork.

Newspapers

Shen Bao (1872-1949) This link opens in a new window
The very first newspaper in China with a Chinese editorial staff, the full-image and full-text Shen Bao Digital Archive gives unique insight into the transition of China from the nineteenth century until Mao. Chinese language only.
ProQuest Historical Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of twelve English-language Chinese historical newspapers from 1832 to 1953.

Websites

Library of Congress Pinyin Conversion Project

New Chinese Romanization Guidelines
Has a table of Wade-Giles to Pinyan correspondence.

What Is The Difference Between Wade-Giles and Pinyin?

MCLC Resource Center (Modern Chinese Language & Culture)

"This resource center contains, among other things, bibliographies of mostly English-language materials on modern Chinese literature, film, art and culture…" The resource is both browseable by topic and has a search engine.

CHINOPERL

CHINOPERL is an organization devoted to the research, analysis and interpretation of oral and performing traditions of China.