LibGuides: Neuroscience: Methods, Protocols & Reviews

Description

Although there are a number of places to find methods, protocols, reviews and techniques (including videos) in the scientific literature and on the web, use this guide to navigate the specialized resources that are available through the Reed Library. If you can not find what you are looking for in one of these resources, try the databases listed in this guide.

Methods & Protocols

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols This link opens in a new window
New and classic research techniques. Fully searchable by keyword and subject. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.

HHMI BioInteractive
HHMI's Biointeractive provides videos and virtual labs to learn about basic neuroscience research procedures & tools
Methods in Enzymology
Access to detailed description of experimental techniques in biochemistry and related fields.

Sage Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Database of over 600 books, handbooks, and journal articles focusing on research design and methods in the social sciences.
Springer Protocols/Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Online database of laboratory protocols (“recipes”) for the life and biomedical sciences, taken from Methods in Molecular Biology and other sources.

Reviews

Why this is useful: Review articles review/synthesize the research already done in a given area. A review article can give you a synthesis of a particular topic and provide you with an extensive bibliography. To identify review articles, most databases allow you to search by article type (review) or limit your search to reviews.

Reed Library also subscribes to a number of review journals. Titles of particular interest to neuroscience include:

Annual Review of … (search or browse all titles)
Long, detailed articles written on "established" topics by experts. Reed has electronic access to all articles.
Annual Review of Biochemistry
Annual Review of Biophysics
Annual Review of Genetics
Annual Review of Medicine
Annual Review of Neuroscience
Annual Review of Physiology
Annual Review of Psychology
Annual Review of Vision Science

Trends in...
A good place to find a shortish review article on a "hot" topic. Reed's access varies by title.
Trends in Biochemical Sciences Online: 1995-present Print: 1983-2010
Trends in Cognitive Sciences Online: 1997-present
Trends in Genetics Online: 1995-present Print: 1 994-2013
Trends in Neurosciences Online: 1995-present Print: 1990-2014

Current Opinion in …
Mid-length detailed articles written on more recent topics.
Current Opinion in Neurobiology Online: 1995-present
Current Opinion in Genetics & Development Online: 1995-present

JOVE Science Education

JOVE Science Education is a database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. Reed has access to the complete collection of science videos to improve scientific research and education.

JoVE Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Reed has access to the complete collection of science videos to improve scientific research and education.

JoVE Video Journals

JoVE Video Journals are peer-reviewed experimental techniques in a visual format with detailed protocols to increase scientific reproducibility and productivity.