LibGuides: Neuroscience: Books, Journals & Databases

Description

Use this tab for information about browsing Reed's collection, finding ebooks, and using databases to find scholarly articles as well as grey literature.

Browsing for Texts

For general textbooks on a particular topic do a keyword search: <topic> study teaching. This won't get you every textbook we have, but should help get you pointed in the right direction.

Browsing in the appropriate call number range can also be a productive exercise. All of the following call numbers are located on Level 2, North Stacks or in Oversize. Many of our science textbooks are considered Oversize books and are located in the Oversize stacks on Main Level, Center Stacks.

Animal Behavior	QL750
Biochemistry & molecular biology Animal Biochemistry Medical Biochemistry Microbiological Chemistry	QD415, QH345 QP501+ RB112.5 QR148
Developmental Biology	QH491
Genetics	QH426-470
Neurophysiology and neuropsychology	QP351-500
Neuroscience	QP360.5, RC321+
Physiology, Animal & Human	QP

Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature on the biomedical sciences, including the the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine. Can be searched interactively with other NCBI databases, including PubMedCentral and PubBooks.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes some full text.

Finding eBooks

eBook Central
Access to more than 80,000 ebook titles from leading academic publishers in 16 discipline areas.
PubMed Bookshelf
A great collection of online text on biomedical subjects, including neurosciences.

O'Reilly Online Learning This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly Online Learning (formerly Safari Books Online) is an ebook collection containing thousands of books and videos on web design, software development, graphic design, and software programs. An account is required for Reed students, faculty, and staff to access the entire collection from on- and off-campus. For detailed instructions on setting up an account see http://libguides.reed.edu/ebooks/safari.

Springer Books Online
Comprised of over 50,000 Springer e-books published from 2005 to date. Search by keyword, or browse by title or subject (such as neuroscience).

Preprints and Grey Literature

PsyArXiv
Designed to facilitate rapid dissemination of psychological research by allowing scholars to post working papers, unpublished work, and articles under review (preprints).
NaturePrecedeings
SpringerNature's preprint server for the Life Sciences.

WorldWideScience.org This link opens in a new window
One-stop searching of national and international databases of government-sponsored scientific research.

CogPrints
An electronic archive for self-archiving papers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of computer science.