LibGuides: Newspapers: General Interest/Current Events

General Interest

New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
All current Reed students, faculty, and staff have direct access to nytimes.com once you activate an account using your Reed email address. Our campus subscription also includes mobile News apps for iOS and Android, NYT Audio app for iOS, newsletter subscriptions, New York Times in Education, and archival content via TimesMachine. (Our subscription excludes games, but currently we do have access to Cooking and Wirecutter.)
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This database contains the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis. A good source for current articles in the New York Times and other major newspapers, and for looking up information about companies, industries and countries.

Gale Onefile News
This full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.

Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

Access World News (1985 - present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newpapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers. Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.
World News Connection (1996 - 2013) This link opens in a new window
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries, updated daily. For earlier content see Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.