LibGuides: Dance: Articles and Databases

Dance Databases

Music and Dance Online This link opens in a new window
A large diverse multimedia catalog of music content for students, scholars, and patrons of the arts. Covers hundreds of genres and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.

International Index to the Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
(Recent title change to Performing Arts Periodicals Database) Journal articles, magazines, etc. relating to dance, theatre, music, film, and performance art. Some full text.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, etc., relating to theatre and dance. Some full text.

Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection is a curated collection of primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship of 20th and 21st century dance.

Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of dance performances in a variety of genres, including modern dance, ballet, tap, and jazz. Part of Academic Video Online (AVON).

Interdisciplinary Databases

JSTOR

Sociological Abstracts (1952 - Present)

Project MUSE (1958 - Present)

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text

TOP TIPS FOR SEARCHING DATABASES

Have a citation for a journal article (for example, one you found in a book or at the end of an article, or got from a professor) and want to access the article itself? Since many individual journal articles are not listed in the library catalog, search for the title of the journal, using the pull-down menu to the right of the search box to limit your search to Reed Library. Your search results will include any print or electronic holdings for the journal you need. If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary loan.

Locating bibliographies relating to your research topic is often a good way to save yourself time and effort. You can find bibliographies at the end of most encyclopedia, journal, and even Wikipedia articles.