LibGuides: Music: News & Reviews

Newspapers

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis. A good source for current articles in major newspapers and for looking up information about companies, industries, and countries.
Access World News (1985 - present)
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newpapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers. Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.
Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present)
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s. Issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) (1784 - Present)
(Recent title change to Music Periodicals Database) Journal articles, magazines, etc. relating to music. Especially good for locating reviews, obituaries, articles from popular news sources (ex: Rolling Stone). Some full text.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis. A good source for current articles in major newspapers and for looking up information about companies, industries, and countries.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full text of historical newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Boston Globe. Also includes historical black newspapers including the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier. Coverage varies but generally starts in the 1800s. Issues include the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers
Search just the "Historical Black Newspapers" portion of the Proquest Historical Newspapers collection. This includes the Chicago Defender, the Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, and the Pittsburgh Courier.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Magazines in the film, entertainment, and music industries. Titles include Billboard, Variety, Spin, Back Stage, etc. Full text.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800 - 1950)
Music periodicals, primarily from the nineteenth-century. No full text.
JSTOR
Full text archive of scholarly journals and primary sources in various disciplines. As of August 2024, the interdisciplinary library of images once known as Artstor has been completely incorporated within the JSTOR platform. Artstor images will appear in all searches, or you can use the Browse Images function.