LibGuides: Theatre: Articles and Databases

Databases: the Basics

Theatre Databases

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text for books, journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, production documents, etc., relating to theatre and dance.
Coverage Dates: -
International Index to the Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full-text for journal articles and newspapers on dance, theatre, music, film, and performance art.
Coverage Dates: 1864 - Present

Interdisciplinary databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text, complete archives of selected core scholarly journals starting with the first issues, many of which date from the 1800's. Most current journal issues not always available through JSTOR.
Coverage Dates: 1800 - Varies
LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies and key secondary sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.
Coverage Dates: -
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. MLA covers all languages and all literature except classical Greek and Latin.
Coverage Dates: 1921 - Present
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.
Coverage Dates: 1958 - Present
America: History and Life (1964 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles relating to American or Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. A good source for articles from academic costume history journals such as 'Dress' and the 'Clothing & Textiles Research Journal.' For other parts of the world, use Historical Abstracts.
Coverage Dates: 1964 - Present
Historical Abstracts (1954 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Coverage Dates: 1954 - Present

TOP TIPS FOR SEARCHING DATABASES

Advanced Tips

Have a citation for a journal article (for example, one you found in a book or at the end of an article, or got from a professor) and want to access the article itself? Since many individual journal articles are not listed in the library catalog, search for the title of the journal, using the pull-down menu to the right of the search box to limit your search to Reed Library. Your search results will include any print or electronic holdings for the journal you need. If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary loan.

Locating bibliographies relating to your research topic is often a good way to save yourself time and effort. You can find bibliographies at the end of most encyclopedia, journal, and even Wikipedia articles.