LibGuides: Psychology: Getting Started

Databases

See the Primary Sources page for more information on finding peer-reviewed journal articles. Below are best bets to get started.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
A collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts that offers a broad view of the field of Psychology but is also relevant to related disciplines. Includes some full text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature on the biomedical sciences, including the the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine. Can be searched interactively with other NCBI databases, including PubMedCentral and PubBooks.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.

See the Test & Measures page for more places to look to find information on psychological tests and measures. Below are good places to start.

ETS Test Collection This link opens in a new window
Database with information on more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.

Mental Measurements with Tests in Print
Reed Library Stacks LB3021 .M45. Contains descriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized English-language educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence tests.

See the Background Sources page for more psychology-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks.

APA Dictionary of Psychology
More than 25,000 authoritative entries across 90 subfields of psychology.
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Includes over 500 topical entries, each with suggested readings and extensive cross-referencing.

Need some guidance on how to conduct research in psychology? Try the books below.

The Psychologist's Companion for Undergraduates : A Guide to Success for College Students
Tailored specifically for undergraduates with topics necessary for successful communication in psychology, making it a valuable resource for research methods and introductory psychology courses.
The Psychology Research Handbook : A Guide for Graduate Students and Research Assistants
Provides students with knowledge of the entire research process from thinking about research, formulating a design, conducting the research, and publishing a paper.
What Psychology Majors Could (and Should) Be Doing
A guide to research experience, professional skills, and your options after college