LibGuides: Anthropology: Starting Your Research

Getting Articles

Many library databases include information to help you locate articles in the academic literature, but they may not include the full text of the article itself. The library offers two services to help you make the connection from these databases to the article you need:

Reed FullText link in the database. Most Reed databases include link that says "Check Reed FullText" or something similarly. Click on this link to view Reed's print and e-journal holdings for the article you're looking for.
Interlibrary Loan Request — ILLIAD. Log into ILLIAD with your Reed network ID and password to request journal, magazine, and newspaper articles that are not available through Reed's print or electronic collections. You'll be notified by e-mail when your article is available for viewing, usually within 1-2 weeks.

Finding Journal Articles

Use one of these databases to locate articles on your topic.

AnthroSource (1888 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital collection of publications of the American Anthropological Association.
Anthropology Plus (Early 1800 - Present) This link opens in a new window
An index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including all the information from Harvard's Tozzer Library. No abstracts are provided, but this is an important research tool for its broad coverage of journal and monographic literature in the field.
Coverage Dates: Early 1800 - Present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
A replacement for Web of Science, Scopus indexes content from 24,600 active titles and 5,000 publishers which is rigorously vetted and selected by an independent review board, and uses a rich underlying metadata architecture to connect people, published ideas and institutions.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text access to Annual Reviews publications in 40 disciplines in the sciences and social sciences. Synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in a given field. Coverage dates back to the first volume, which varies for each publication.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that provides some full text and some citations for thousands of journals. A good starting place for beginning research and quickly finding articles for a variety of topics.

Global News Sources

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis. A good source for current articles in major newspapers and for looking up information about companies, industries, and countries.
Access World News (1985 - present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 2,600 U.S. and international newpapers, including the Oregonian and other regional papers. Includes Selected wire services, radio and television transcripts.
World News Connection (1996 - 2013) This link opens in a new window
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries, updated daily. For earlier content see Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports.

Country Reports

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (1991 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Books, articles, working papers, and case studies on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.

World Factbook
Maps and facts about countries and regions from the CIA.

Literature Review Tools for Geographic or Ethnographic Approaches

Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (16th Century - Present) This link opens in a new window
Books and journal literature on all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.

Critical Ethnic Studies
Critical Ethnic Studies provides a space for unique and insurgent critique among academic and activist intellectuals within ethnic studies. It is interdisciplinary work that repositions the guiding assumptions of other fields, and engages the new methodologies, philosophies, and propositions of this emerging intellectual formation.
more...less...
Refereed/Peer-reviewed

Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Published annually, this handbook is a selective bibliography of the most important articles in the field of Latin American Studies.

Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
Journal of Contemporary Ethnography (JCE), published bi-monthly, is an international and interdisciplinary forum for research using ethnographic methods to examine human behavior in natural settings.
more...less...
Peer-reviewed