Skip to main content

Research guide for students taking anthropology courses.

Online Reference Tools

Use one of these online reference collections or sources to find background information on your topic.

Print Reference Works

Reference materials can be found on the Main Level (ML) of the Reed College Library. 

 

These subject-specific encyclopedias provide easy access to authoritative definitions and concepts used in anthropology and the study of cultures.

Encyclopedia of Diasporas Immigrant and Refugee Cultures Around the World, 2 vols. 
Online Access 
The Encyclopedia of Diasporas can be used both to gain a general understanding of immigration and immigrants, and to find out about particular cultures, topics and communities. It addresses the disciplines of anthropology, social studies, political studies, international studies, and immigrant and immigration studies.

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology, 4 vols. 
Online Access
A guide to the theory and practice of cultural anthropology containing articles on approaches, methods, concepts, and key topics. Includes bibliographical references.

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World, 4 vols. 
Ref HT108.5.E53 2002 
A guide to over 240 major cities around the world including demographic information, history, politics, public systems, culture, social life and future outlook.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures, 10 vols. and online
Ref GN307.E53 1991 or online access 
Each volume is dedicated to a different region of the world. Provides an overview of local ethnologies and cultures. Includes references.

Theory of Social and Cultural Anthropology: An Encyclopedia, online
Online access 
A guide to the most authoritative and thorough reference resource available on anthropology theory.

World Geographical Encyclopedia, 5 vols. 
Ref G63.E5213 1995 
Covers the populated continents. Articles are organized by country rather than by culture and include profiles on the natural environment, population, economy summary, and history. Includes color photographs.