Electronic Resources for American Indian, First Nations & Indigenous Studies

Image Resources

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection 

This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.

The Bob Fitch Photography Archive: New Mexico Navajo Protest, 1974

This archive documents the investigation of assault and murder of Native Americans by non-natives in the "four corners" region, near the conjunction of four states -- Colorado, Nevada, Arizona and New Mexico. Most of the region belongs to the Hopi, Ute, Zuni & Navajo nations.

Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian (Northwestern University)

Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates.

Ayer Art Digital Collection (Newberry Library)

North American Indian Photographs (Newberry Library)

Plains Indian Ledger Art

Includes, in their entirety, 28 ledgers illustrated by Native Americans from a variety of Plains tribes.

Photographing the American Indian: Portraits of Native Americans, 1860-1913, from the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society

The web presentation portraits were collected by four Bostonians during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Charles W. Jenks and Francis Parkman collected carte de visite and tintype portraits of American Indians during the 1860s as historical records of tribal groups and their role in contemporary American politics. 

Stephen Mopope Paintings (Brown University Library)

Original paintings by the oldest member of the famed Kiowa Five group of Native artists