Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center
The Carlisle Indian Industrial School is a major site of memory for many Native peoples, as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe. This website represents an effort to aid the research process by bringing together, in digital format, a variety of resources that are physically preserved in various locations around the country.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
This collaborative project seeks to create a database with thematic coherence that engages online researchers in thinking more deeply about the significance of the rich primary resources available in museums, libraries, and historical societies.
How Qu'Appelle Got Its Name
University of Saskatchewan Libraries Special Collections, Canadiana Pamphlets Collection
This Aboriginal legend is found in the pamphlet "The Gossamer Thread / A true story of Bishop Grisdale / and the Legend of Qu'Appelle."
Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains Digital Collection
The Collection includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. In 1998, the images were digitized and drawn from the library collections of three of the Montana State University campuses (Billings, Bozeman and Havre), the Museum of the Rockies in Bozeman, and Little Big Horn College in Crow Agency, Montana.
Journals of the Lewis & Clark Expedition
The site features the full text—almost five thousand pages—of the journals. Also included are a gallery of images, important supplemental texts, and audio files of selected passages plus Native American perspectives. With a focus on full-text searchability and ease of navigation.
National Archives and Records Administration (US)
Includes digital access to key founding documents of the United States, as well as a variety of search tools
The Native Northeast Portal contains primary source materials by, on, or about Northeast Indians from repositories around the world. Documents are digitized, transcribed, annotated, reviewed by the appropriate contemporary descendant community representatives, and brought together with scholarly annotations and academic/community commentary into one edited interactive digital collection.
Natives of Montana Archival Project
Includes over 65,000 pages from 126 boxes of Bureau of Indian Affairs records (Record Group 75) held at the National Archives in Washington, D.C. Scanned from the Central Classified Files (CCF), 1907-1939, this collection includes letters, reports, photographs, petitions, leases, bonds, wills, and other legal documents.
Provides free access to over 690,000 resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities in Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Hawaii, and other parts of the U.S. West.
New Mexico Digital Collections
New Mexico Digital Collections is the central search portal for digital collections about New Mexico. A service of the University of New Mexico Libraries, they provide access to digitized photographs, manuscripts, posters, oral histories, videos, maps, and books from libraries, museums, and cultural centers across the state.
NWDA provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases.
The Occum Circle (Dartmouth College Library)
Documenting the life of a Mohegan leader, Presbyterian minister and missionary, public intellectual, and important Indigenous writer of Northeastern American in the 18th century, this collection comprises materials found in Special Collections at the Dartmouth College Library.
As a collection of general Americana, the Newberry’s Edward E. Ayer Collection is one of the best in the country and one of the strongest collections on American Indians in the world.
The materials in the Portal have been chosen and curated by tribal representatives. Each item has one or more records associated with it as well as added traditional knowledge and cultural narratives to enhance and enrich understanding to many audiences.
Indigenous Language Collection (John Carter Brown Library)
"Texts in one or more Amerindian languages for the period before the nineteenth century. This collection includes all identified books with native American languages–whether they contain a one-page vocabulary list or are entirely in or on an native American language, comprising grammatical studies, dictionaries, and thematic vocabulary lists, speeches, dramatic dialogues, scriptural excerpts, catechisms, and other religious texts and manuscript sources."
John Eliot's Bible in the Massachusett Language (John Hay Library)
Copy owned by Roger Williams, containing his shorthand annotations. This text is in active use by local tribes in Southern New England in the effort to reconstruct their languages..
Tomaquag Indian Memorial Museum
Documenting the life and culture of the Narragansett people of Southeastern New England
Permanent exhibit includes a walk through diorama of Pequot life, along with related exhibits that engage the visitor with information on thousands of years of Pequot life in North America
Indians of the Midwest: An Archive of Endurance (Newberry Library)
Exhibitions at the National Museum of the American Indian (Smithsonian)
(NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
Color and Shape in American Indian Art (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Online book
Haffenreffer Museum (Brown University)
The Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology archival collections are comprised of materials of cultural and historical significance that enhance the research value of the ethnographic and archaeological collections.
Harris Collection of American Poetry and Plays
Although the existing research guide lacks a category for Indigenous writers, the Harris collection is nevertheless a strong resource for poetry and plays by Native American authors from the 19th century to the present.
Tribal Writers Digital Library: Sequoyah National Research Center
The project brings the works of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose to readers worldwide. Featuring out-of-print literary efforts of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada, the project seeks to broaden the definition of “Native Writing” not only by focusing on writers who are not ordinarily anthologized, but also by publishing works which originally appeared in “ephemeral” sources and the periodical press, especially in those publications edited and produced by Natives.
Tribal Writers Digital Library
Produced by the University of Arkansas, the Native Writers Digital Library brings the works of Native poets and writers of fiction and other prose to readers worldwide.
Aboriginal Resources and Services from private and government sources, including rare dictionaries and grammar books in Aboriginal languages; Northwest Scrip Commission papers; Treaty and census records; genealogical resources; art; photographic and cartographic records; and audio-visual and sound recordings.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
