LibGuides: Comparative Literature: Finding Articles

Databases

These databases allow you to search the contents of periodicals to identify articles on your topic. If you find a citation for an article that is not linked to full text, check the library catalog to see if Reed subscribes to the journal and if we have the particular issue. If the article you are looking for is not available at Reed, you can request it from Interlibrary Loan.

General Databases

American Literary Scholarship (1998 - 2020) This link opens in a new window
Annual selective and evaluative survey of the year's important scholarship. Ceased publication with the 2020 volume. Also available in print 1963 - 1997 (Stacks PS3 .A47)
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text access to "Cambridge companion to. . ." series of books in the areas of literature, music, classics, philosophy, religion, and culture.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text (1914 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles on film and television publications, including movie reviews from 1914 to present and images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search across Gale's literary databases. Access classical and medieval literature criticism as well as full-text poems, plays, and short stories.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of selected core scholarly journals in various disciplines. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images.
LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable library of works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, plus biographies and key secondary sources. Includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major index of literary, linguistic and folklore scholarship. Covers all languages and literatures except classical Greek and Latin.
Project MUSE (1958 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. All parts of the journals are scanned, including any images. A good source for current articles on a variety of subjects.

Language-Specific Databases

Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft This link opens in a new window
The largest and most authoritative bibliography and index of publications on German language and literary studies.
CAIRN This link opens in a new window
French language journals articles and magazines in the social sciences and humanities. Also includes full text access to selected French language reference works.
China academic journals. Series F: Literature, history, philosophy (CNKI) This link opens in a new window
Reed has access to the full-text collection of Chinese journals in the fields of literature, history and philosophy.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Published annually, this handbook is a selective bibliography of the most important articles in the field of Latin American Studies.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodical Index) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, documents, literary works about Central and South America throughout the world.

Journals

Below is a list of relevant journals that publish scholarship on comparative literature, cultural studies, literary theory, and more. While this list is not comprehensive, these are some of the most prominent journals in the field and a good place to start exploring or looking for specific articles to cite in your research.