LibGuides: Image Research Guide: Finding Images

Image Resources

General Databases

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The digital library has over a million images that support research in Art, Anthropology, Archaeology, Architecture, History, Fashion & Costume, and many more subjects. Using Artstor provides information about searching as well as using images in papers and presentations.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is an encyclopedia of art, architecture, and art history. This comprehensive resource on art includes Grove Art Online, the Oxford art reference subscriptions, and publications.
Reed Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Reed’s Digital Collection has over 200,000 works of art, photographs, maps, theses, videos, and other primary source and archival documents. Content is generated from the Reed College Special Collections & Archives, the Visual Resources Center, and from other academic departments across campus.

Books

Books are often the only source to find an image. Using a book as your primary source could give you more information about an image and give you context to another scholar's work. Navigate to the library catalog and follow the search strategies below to find images in books.

Search for 'illus' as a keyword (include the quote marks around the keyword).
OR
Select Advanced Search, filter by Subject Term, and search for pictorial or illustrations.

Articles

Article databases allow you to limit your search to articles containing images or to sort your search result to highlight articles containing images.

Humanities International Complete

Search specifically for articles containing images. Enter your search terms, type 'illustration', and select the type of image you're looking for in the bottom right.
JSTOR

Search results to highlight articles containing images.

Image Research Guide

Need Help?

Visual Resources Curator

Image Resources