Skip to Main Content

Electronic Resources for Black Studies

The purpose of this research guide is to focus on key Electronic Resources for Black Studies, with an emphasis on African American experience in the United States.

1964 Freedom Summer Project

From the Wisconsin Historical Society. Brief descriptions and links to original documents created by CORE, SNCC, COFO, local residents, volunteers and opponents.

African-American History

Links to people and key events in African American history.

American Slave Narratives

From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration. This website from PBS offers a gateway to several online compilations of these narratives.

Amistad Research Center, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA

Repository for American Missionary Association holdings: papers of artists, educators, authors, business leaders, clergy, lawyers, factory workers, farmers and musicians documenting modern Civil Rights Movement.

Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture

Operates as a small museum, a national historic site with a listing on the National Register of Historic Sites, and a cultural center. College of Charleston

Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South

From Duke University, a selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.‚Äč

Digital Library on American Slavery

Race and Slavery Petitions Project; NC Runaway Slave Advertisements; Slave Deeds of North Carolina; Slavery Era Insurance Registries; etc. at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Forced Migration of Enslaved People in the United States

Maps and links to historical narratives from 1810 to 1859, from the University of Richmond.

Frederick Douglass Project

University of Rochester

Free People of Color in Louisiana: Revealing an Unknown Past

Family papers, business records, and public documents pertaining to free people of color in Louisiana and the lower Mississippi Valley.

Freedmen’s Bureau Project

Transcription and digitization of Freedmen’s Bureau collection, accessed through FamilySearch.

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History 

The archive contains more than 70,000 items that cover five hundred years of American history, from Columbus’s 1493 letter describing the New World to soldiers’ letters from World War II and Vietnam. 

HBCU Library Alliance Digital Collection

Collections of primary resources from member libraries of the Historically Black College and University Library Alliance.

Legacies of British Slave-ownership

University College London's projects tracing the impact of slave-ownership on the formation of modern Britain: the ESRC-funded Legacies of British Slave-ownership project, now complete, and the ESRC and AHRC-funded Structure and significance of British Caribbean slave-ownership 1763-1833, running from 2013-2015.

Lynching in America: Equal Justice Initiative interactive site, with Google

This interactive site inspired by Lynching in America: Confronting the Legacy of Racial Terror, which is the most comprehensive research done on lynching to date. 

Madam Walker/A'Lelia Walker Family Archives

A’Lelia Bundles, Madam C. J. Walker’s great-great-granddaughter and biographer, leads the largest privately owned collection of Walker material.

Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery, New York Historical Society

Includes diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions.

Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. Church Archive

Collaboration between Payne and Princeton Theological Seminary digitizing historical archives and contributing them to the Theological Commons.

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture

The National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. Now open in Washington, D.C.

Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

Sponsored by Emory U, the N.E.H., and the W.E.B. DuBois Institute, the database has information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the 16th and 17th centuries.

W. E. B. Du Bois Papers, 1803-1999 (bulk 1877-1963)

MS 312; 294 boxes (122.59 linear ft.) digitized by the Special Collections and University Archives, University of Massachusetts Amherst Libraries.

Avoice: African American Voices in Congress

Congressional Black Caucus Foundation

Black Women in Politics

Database of Black women running for office.

Civil Rights Laws of the United States

Legal Information Institute, organized by Cornell Law School, is a non-profit public service that provides no-cost access to current American and international legal research sources online.

Congressional Black Caucus

Since its establishment in 1971, Members of the Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) have joined together to empower America’s neglected citizens and address their legislative concerns.

Liberated Africans

Archival materials from court cases & records in British & Sierra Leone National Archives.

Race & Place: An African American Community in the Jim Crow South: Charlottesville, VA

Archive of racial segregation laws, Univ. of Virginia's Woodson Inst. & Ctr. for Digital Humanities.

U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

The Civil Rights Act of 1957 created the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. Established as an independent, bipartisan, fact-finding federal agency, their mission is to inform the development of national civil rights policy and enhance enforcement of federal civil rights laws.

U.S. Department of State Bureau of African Affairs

The division in the Department of State focused on the development and management of U.S. policy concerning Africa.

United States Census Race Data

Census Bureau data and publications on race.