One of the most popular and long-running radio programs of all time. 131 Mp3 downloads available from Old World Radio.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library is a large and comprehensive collection of streaming jazz — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Jazz performances covering a variety of styles and time periods, from labels such as Verve and Impulse! Records.
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
Hamilton College Jazz Archive, Clinton, NY (YouTube channel)
Hiphop Archive and Research Institute, Harvard University
The archive is a new type of research and scholarship devoted to the knowledge, art, culture, materials, organizations, movements and institutions of Hiphop.
Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Recordings of spoken word, Blues, Gospel, Jazz & Ragtime.
Online resource dedicated to classic and modern Soul Music.
Spirituals Database [solo voice]
This database offers searchable access to recorded track information for concert Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists.
26-part documentary series by National Public Radio and the Smithsonian Institution on American gospel music and its impact on soul, jazz and R&B.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
