Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States:
This website focused on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Our intention is to support a wide range of students, as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it.
This primary source collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery in the writings and publications of the activists themselves, and includes articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works.
Black Lives Matter Collection via Springer Nature
A collection of books, journal articles and magazine content from Springer Nature that amplifies Black voices and the issues raised by the Black Lives Matter movement
This database contains scholarly and trade journal articles covering criminology and criminal justice
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items - photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more - from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Relevant DPLA Primary Source Collections: Cotton Gin and the Expansion of Slavery, Exodusters: African American Migration to the Great Plains, Blackface Minstrelsy in Modern America, Voting Rights Act of 1965, Ida B. Wells and Anti-Lynching Activism, The Underground Railroad and the Fugitive Slave Act of 1850, Fannie Lou Hamer and the Civil Rights Movement in Rural Mississippi, Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl by Harriet Jacobs, The Equal Rights Amendment, The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin, The Poetry of Maya Angelou, Busing & Beyond: School Desegregation in Boston, African American Soldiers in World War I, Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston, The Freedmen's Bureau, The Great Migration, The American Abolitionist Movement, The Transatlantic Slave Trade, Frederick Douglass and Abraham Lincoln, The Black Power Movement, Beloved by Toni Morrison, Women and the Blues, Negro League Baseball, Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Visual Art During the Harlem Renaissance, A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides access to educational-related literature including journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
A collaborative project of several major research libraries in the U.S. to create a comprehensive library of digital library materials. Login and choose Reed College from the partner institution drop down menu to access more full text content.
Slavery and Antislavery (1700 - 1888)
Primary documents from several important archives. Includes material from books.
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) (1913 - Present)
Thousands of U.S. economic data time series available from over 80 sources.
Topic-focused digital collections of historical documents.
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials from over 1,000 different institutions, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Magazines in the film, entertainment, and music industries. Titles include Billboard, Variety, Spin, Back Stage, etc. Full text.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Provides access to more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters. Formerly Lexis Nexis Environmental.
American State Papers (1789 - 1838)
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. Does not include House and Senate journals.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (1976 - Present)
The CGP is a finding tool for government publications whether online or in print at a Federal Depository Library. The CGP includes records for, and links to, content available on govinfo.
Replaces the decommissioned American FactFinder. Interactive data and mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes population, housing, and other social and economic data from the decennial census of population and housing, the economic census, and from annual surveys and estimates programs.
govinfo provides full text access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It replaces previous systems GPO Access and FDsys.
Historical Statistics of the United States
A compendium of historical statistics about United States (1700s - 1975)
FindLaw Legal News & Information
Very current legal news headlines and blogs. Includes browse by legal topics feature.
HeinOnline is a database for law journals, legal history, treaties, and government documents including the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S.
America: History and Life (1964 - Present)
Indexes over 2,000 scholarly journals to find citations for appropriate articles on your topic in American or Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Allows you to search by historical period. For other parts of the world, use Historical Abstracts.
Accessible Archives (including African American Newspapers) (1700s - 1800s)
Full text of a large number of 18th and 19th century American Newspapers including the African American Newspapers collection.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, provides online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles.
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1940-1996
Translated news broadcasts, reports, and publications from around the world offer coverage of America’s fight for racial justice.
Alternative Press Index (1991 - Present)
Useful for researching cultural, economic, political & social change. Indexes alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals
Full digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Caribbean History and Culture, Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia (1535-1920)
Collection of books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera. Subject areas include Atlantic Studies, Diaspora Studies, Economic Studies, History of Medicine, Ethnicity and Gender Studies, Latin America and Slavery.
Caribbean Newspapers. Series 1, 1718-1876
More than 140 newspapers from 22 islands. Most published in the English language.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941 - 1996)
English translations of news releases and articles from most countries. For current content, see World News Connection.
Digitized alternative press publications, including small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
African American Music Reference
Music Online: African American Music Reference includes major reference works, biographies and personal narratives, manuscripts, song-sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources to cover jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, and gospel.
Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. Contain genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing, Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a comprehensive resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.
Digital collection of thousands of fully searchable, full text electronic books from scholarly publishers.
America's Historical Imprints (1639 - 1819)
Full digital access to the Early American Imprints Series I, II, and supplements. 36,000 titles on 17th and 18th century American life. Includes most books printed anywhere during that time period about America.
EBSCO's ebook platform. Use it to browse and access ebooks that we have purchased or subscribed to for the Reed collection.
Gale eBooks (formerly Virtual Reference Library)
Search and access the full text of selected reference books, such as dictionaries and encyclopedias, covering a wide range of subjects.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
