African American Museum in Philadelphia (AAMP)
(AAMP) is the first institution funded and built by a major municipality to preserve, interpret and exhibit the heritage of African Americans. The link above goes to the Museums Online Collections Database.
African-American Panoramic Experience
The museum has a few online exhibits, linked above.
Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History
This museum dedicates itself to exploring and celebrating the rich cultural legacy of African Americans.
The DuSable Museum of African American History is a Chicago community institution and the first non-profit Museum dedicated to the collection, documentation, preservation, study and the dissemination of the history and culture of Africans and African Americans.
National Civil Rights Museum (NCRM)
The museum documents the American civil rights movement and tells the story of the ongoing struggle for human rights.
National Museum of African American History and Culture (Smithsonian)
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
Is a museum of conscience, an education center, a convener of dialogue, and a beacon of light for inclusive freedom around the globe
The Museum of African American History
the Museum has preserved two historic sites and two Black Heritage Trails® that tell the story of organized black communities from the Colonial Period through the 19th century
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
Includes not only timelines but thematic essays, maps and links for related resources.
Oh, Freedom! Teaching African American Civil Rights Through American Art at the Smithsonian
Includes a timeline, lesson plans, a discussion board and supplemental resources
African American Artists at the National Gallery of Art
An online slideshow of 27 of the more than 400 works by African American artists in the NGA collections. Works by 19 different artists are presented.
This used to be a robust, fully digital version of a Smithsonian exhibit. Sadly, images of the works displayed have now been removed. But you can still read the exhibit narrative and download a complete list of the works displayed.
Michigan State University Libraries Digital Collection.
Conversations: African and African American Artworks in Dialogue
From the National Museum of African Art and the Camille O. and William H. Cosby Jr. collection
Fashion and Race Database Project
Intersections between fashion, race, and colonialism, by Parsons School of Design professor.
Forsaken: The Digital Bibliography
Library of Virginia's collections Ross Howell Jr. used in novel.
Portrait of Black Chicago (National Archives and Records Administration)
From June through October 1973 and briefly during the spring of 1974, John H. White, a 28-year-old photographer with the Chicago Daily News, worked for the federal government photographing Chicago, especially the city`s African American community. White took his photographs for an EPA project but saw his work as a way "to capture a slice of life."
Explore the life and art of the eminent 20th century African American artist through the website of this foundation devoted to his legacy.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
