A project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso.
Bittersweet Harvest: The Bracero Program 1942 - 1964 (National Museum of American History)
Hispanic Communities Documentation Project (Brooklyn Historical Society)
Over fifty interviews were conducted to document the experiences of Brooklyn residents who arrived from Puerto Rico, Panama, Ecuador, and several other Central and South American nations in the latter half of the twentieth century. This collection includes recordings and transcripts of interviews conducted between 1988 and 1989.
Onda Latina: The Mexican American Experience
The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
A subsection of StoryCorps, provides the recorded stories of Latinos around the country.
Latina and Latino History Oral Histories (UCLA)
Topics include Central Americans in California, Latinos in film, music, politics, Mexican American Civil Rights and the Sleepy Lagoon Case.
Latino Arts and Culture Oral History Project ( Institute for Latino Studies, Notre Dame)
More than 100 interviews have been recorded with Latino leaders, writers, poets, artists, scholars, and Notre Dame Alumni, with a particular emphasis on the Midwestern United States.
Latino Migration Oral History Archives (U of North Carolina)
These interviews focus on issues related to Latin American immigration to North Carolina and the formation of Latino communities.
Latino Philadelphia Oral Histories (Historical Society of Pennsylvania)
These collections consist of personal letters, diaries, photographs, and scrapbooks of immigrant families; the financial records, correspondence, and advertising of businesses; the legal, civic, and organizational records of advocacy groups; the research files of scholars studying specific communities; as well as photographs, prints, posters and broadsides; and in some cases, samples of published and unpublished literature, art, and music.
Luis J. Botifoll Oral History Collection (U of Miami Libraries)
The Luis J. Botifoll Oral History Project digital collection includes videos, outlines, and selected transcripts of oral history interviews conducted principally with members of the first generations of Cubans to leave the island after the Cuban Revolution. Launched in 2008, the Project was conceived of and funded by the Amigos of the Cuban Heritage Collection as a community history initiative to capture the testimonies of older Cuban exiles.
Mexican Labor and World War II: The Bracero Program.
Collection of era photographs, documents, and oral history interviews.
New Roots: Voices from Carolina del Norte, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
This is a digital archive that contains the oral histories of Latin American migrants in North Carolina and the experiences of North Carolinians that have worked for the integration of new settlers into this southern state.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Covering 1800-1950, this database includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information and provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants.
Nuestras Raíces, The Latino Oral History Project of Rhode Island
The Latino Oral History Project of RI (Nuestras Raíces) was started in 1991 and is managed by Rhode Island Latino Arts. It is a collection of the stories and lives of Rhode Island’s Spanish-speaking pioneers.
Puerto Rico and the American Dream
Seattle Civil Rights & Labor History Project
Interviews on the Chicano Movement in Washington State.
VOCES Oral History Project (UT)
The Voces Oral History Project documents and creates a better awareness of the contributions of U.S. Latinos and Latinas of the WWII, Korean War and Vietnam War generations.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
