African American History Month
This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Background and information about Britain and the transatlantic slave trade, and relevant records held by The National Archives (UK government, and for England and Wales.)
Transatlantic Slave Trade and Thomas Clarkson and his fellow abolitionists.
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, maps, government documents, plays, films, and recordings from the Library of Congress
A resource guide from the Library of Congress for the study of African American history and culture
African American History Project
An archive of oral history interviews centering on integration and education
National Museum of African American History & Culture
The National Museum of African American History & Culture is the only museum dedicated to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture. This website will provide numerous resources for educators, families, and students.
Swarthmore College, Swarthmore, PA
Online encyclopedia; speeches; primary documents from 1724 to 2009; bibliographies; timelines and links to archive collections, museums, research centers, and genealogical research websites.
Black Renaissance in Washington, D.C., 1920-1930s
Supported by the Art Division of the D.C. Public Library.
Middle Passage Ceremonies and Port Markers Project
established in 2011 to honor the two million captive Africans who perished during the transatlantic crossing known as the Middle Passage and the ten million who survived to build the Americas.
Hutchins Center for African and African American Research
Nation's oldest research center dedicated to the study of the history and culture of African Americans
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
