1853 Richmond and its Slave Market
Overview of auction houses and slave jails. Digital Scholarship Lab, University of Richmond.
Database of fugitives from North American slavery.
New York Slavery Records Index
Identifying enslaved persons and their owners, as early as 1525 and ending during the Civil War by John Jay College of Criminal Justice.
Slave Biographies: The Atlantic Database Network
Open access repository on enslaved people in the Atlantic World.
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization's work on research, teaching, identification, preservation and promotion of sites of memory related to the slave trade and slavery.
Open source collaboration led by Scholastica of slave narratives and interviews.
Slave Societies Digital Archive (formerly Ecclesiastical and Secular Sources for Slave Societies)
Vanderbilt University digitazation project related to Africans, Afro-descended peoples, Chinese and indigenous groups. Over 500,000 documents from Brazil, Colombia, Cuba and the U.S.
Slave Wrecks Project, National Museum of African American History and Culture
Spread of U.S. Slavery, 1790–1860
Interactive map by Lincoln Mullen, using U.S. Census Data.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Records of some 36,000 slaving expeditions 1514-1866 found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world.
Revised Dred Scott Case Collection
By Washington University Libraries and the Missouri State Archives.
Revisiting Rebellion: Nat Turner in the American Imagination
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and the American Antiquarian Society.
Performance/film production, Nov. 8-9, 2019, artist Dread Scott's reimagined German Coast Uprising of 1811, outside of New Orleans.
Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection
In 1870, Rev. Samuel Joseph May's materials went to Cornell U. Library, documenting anti-slavery struggles. Sermons, position papers, offprints, newsletters, anthologies, freedmen's testimonies, broadsides, and Anti-Slavery Fair keepsakes document the abolitionist movement.
First person narratives, legal proceedings & decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works from Millersville University & Dickinson College libraries
Monroe Nathan Work (1866-1945) founded Dept. of Records & Research at Tuskegee Institute. Site has update of Monroe Work's legacy using modern tools to list again every known lynching. Site updates Work's legacy using modern tools to list & map every known lynching.
To See Justice Done: Letters from the Scottsboro Boys Trials
Exhibit on 1931 trial of 9 young men falsely accused of rape, from the Scottsboro Boys Museum & Cultural Center and University of Alabama.
Shaky Truce: Starkville Civil Rights Struggles, 1960-1980
By students and faculty at Mississippi State University.
Biographical accounts of enslaved Africans in the Atlantic world, 16th-19th century.
This work by the Reed College Library is licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY Attribution 4.0 International License.
Reed College Library | Email: library@reed.edu | Phone: 503-777-7702 | 3203 Southeast Woodstock Boulevard, Portland, Oregon 97202-8199
